Life is a banquet

LIFE IS A BANQUET

When God has an object lesson for me, he’ll send it right through the Panasonic. One night a good while back I was in a blue mood, so I flip the classic movie channel, and there is Auntie Mame. Rosalind Russell plays a whacky, free-spirited woman trying to rescue her orphaned nephew from the stuffed shirts who control of his estate.

It’s impossible to nap through this flick. God’s message was as plain as the plaid on my Lazyboy™ recliner, in the scene where Mame talks with her secretary. “Agnes, you’ve been taking my dictations for weeks and you haven’t gotten the message of my book. Live!”

“Live?” says poor Agnes with a blank stare. “Yes,” Mame replies. “Life’s a banquet, and most poor suckers are starving to death!”

When I replay the scene on my DVR, a blinding flash of Technicolor brings a spiritual epiphany. (Moses had his burning bush, but movie milestones are just as dramatic.) Agnes responds, “I see what she’s been living, and what I’ve been missing.”

Wow. Yes, life is a banquet, and we should all be feasting, not fasting from the joy and contentment God promises. Jesus said, “I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.” (John 10:10) And Proverbs says the cheerful heart has a continual feast. (15:15) Shall we make a pact to be more like Mame, a gal who savors each moment and lives life to the full? Jesus came for this very reason.

I’m game if you are. Pass the Cherries Jubilee.

****Take this thought: Life is not found anywhere else but in the present moment. Live to the hilt right where you are, right now.

Leave a Reply

